Andrew re-elected Lil'wat Nation chief

Incumbent out-polls Leo for leadership of Mount Currie Band

Leonard Andrew was re-elected to his fourth consecutive two-year term as chief of the Mount Currie Band (Lil'wat Nation) on the weekend.

Andrew, 64, who also served four terms as chief from 1981 to 1989, outpolled five other candidates for the leadership of the nation's approximately 1,900 on- and off-reserve members on Saturday (March 7). He was a clear winner with 332 votes.

article continues below

Finishing second in the voting for chief was Lyle Leo, who is being sued by the band for allegedly taking kickbacks while under contract to the band. Leo, who has denied the allegations, received 169 votes. Rounding on the voting for chief were Bruce Nathan Edmonds (53), Christopher Wells (30), Lois Joseph (24) and Leonard Peters Sr. (14).

Seven incumbents were re-elected to the nation's 12-member council, including Edmonds, Lois Joseph, Maxine Joseph, Martina Pierre, Christopher Wells, Morgan R. Wells and Patricia Williams. The five newcomers to the band council are Vaughan Gabriel, Joanne John, Felicite (Flee) Nelson, Tara Smith and Rosemary Stager.

Edmonds was the top vote-getter among the 45 candidates for council with 318. Felicite Nelson was second with 269, followed by Vaughan (227), Morgan Wells (217), Lois Joseph (212), Christopher Wells (208), Maxine Joseph (204) and Smith (202). Williams finished 12th with 180 votes, one vote ahead of 13th-place Nadine Pascale.

© Copyright Whistler Question

Question POLL

Is Whistler doing a better job of co-existing with bears?

or  view results

Popular Pemberton News